Happy Pongal!

The three day marathon of Pongal is quite over. However, this year I was way too preoccupied to really worry about Pongal too much and it ended up being merely observed versus being celebrated. Bhogi was a working day. I woke up late, and so could not find time to even make a simple sweet in the morning. Came back home very tired, and my husband (quite surprisingly and unusually) offered to make Pongal that same evening instead of the next morning, because he was going to be on a conference call from early in the morning. So, under my able guidance, we managed the Chakkarai pongal (which ended up tasting pretty good) on Bhogi night itself (so what, it was Pongal day in India). On Pongal day, once again, woke up late, could not even pack lunch and survived on a tasting menu offered by my colleagues for lunch. That evening, I made a simple Ven pongal. My daughter was sick and just not co-operative, so could not make anything to go with the Pongal and my interest in it was automatically diminished. On Kanu day, my daughter and I managed to keep Kanu in the garage. The deck would have been  much more suitable, but with her nose already clogged and her signs of heading for a fever, the last thing I wanted was for her to stand in the cold for 10 minutes keeping Kanu. So, we headed to the garage with our multicolor ‘pudis’. No turmeric leaves or banana leaves – so had to make do with aluminium foil. No sugarcane or beetle leaves, so skipped that whole part. Just did the pudis which my daughter surprisingly understood from the first one she did. She was very careful not to let them roll out of the aluminium foil. After having done that, we circumvented it thrice – she thought it was a fun game, and then off we went to daycare and work. The only kalandha sadham was thenga sadham. So by all standards, I’d have to say this year’s pongal was a pretty shoddy affair.

I was physically too tired, my daughter was sick and cranky, my husband was out of town for 1 of 3 days and I just hadn’t got things organized enough.

I guess I will make up for it during Karadayan Nombu which it seems arrives on a Friday, but it’s a simple event too and can be managed hopefully.

I did enjoy all the Pongal special movies on SunTV which I recorded on the DVR and watched at night. Certainly more interesting than watching interviews of unknown directors and cameramen.

5 thoughts on “Happy Pongal!

  1. Me

    sounds just like pongal in our home…only diff being…chakkarapongal and venn pongal was made in the morning….

    …no karumbu…no manjal leaves around the ponga paanai…well no ponga-paanai…hmmm..

    no kalandha saadham…only subway sandwich…for kanu..

    I love the Karadayan Nombu adai with butter…:))

  2. Sometimes it makes it useful to ask why observe festivities off the home ground?To keep in touch? With what? Growing up memories? What’s a farmer’s festival to the Sun God for me when I’m togged in woollens and can see no trace of the sun? Why kanu pidi in my windowsill for the pigeons to roost when I have no “porandaam” to go and do it?
    It’s the mind and heart really. It would have made sense to make the sweet dish for the following Sunday lunch to relish for the family than run through it hurriedly. Festivities without a gathering makes it sombre. And thinking how my child would grow up without knowing these traditions seems to be lacking strength for me as days go by. I’d like him to chase traditions of diligence, commitment, and integrity than kaanum pongal ( it’s a day for picnic and all i did was drag the little fella in the morning chill to pack him off to school).
    Brave of you to observe it at all. Next year will be glorious for you. Your intentions are sincere. Mine are washing away in the winter wind as years go by.

  3. Maami.. I don’t know what the motivation is. Perhaps, it is because I realize that being away from home and family my fondest and clearest memories are the ones spent with my parents and brother during every festival – pongal, deepavali, navarathri. I’ve always argued with friends who do not take the trouble for this and wonder at me – if i lived in India, and I wasn’t doing this, my daughter would know about these customs from other families if not us. Living in the US, if we did not try to do these things at home, she will not even know they exist. I fear that when she grows up, all she will have for fond memories are us rushing in and out of the home, visiting Sam’s club for weekly shopping. I think I her owe her better memories than that. Plus I like all the good food😀

  4. Yeah I get you, especially with a little daughter around, you want to make her growing up year’s at her mom’s festive and cheerful.
    Next time akaravadisal venum.Via FedEx.
    Wokay-a?
    Rekha:Sure😀

Leave a Reply

