Deepavali – better late than never!

Happy Deepavali everyone. I know it’s really late, all of you feel like deepavali was long ago, like me you’ve finished consuming all the sweets and bakshanams that were made or bought, but hey.. I am still earlier than the fireworks at the local temple.

Unlike last year, when the TV had been screaming Deepavali for more than a month, and made me feel like an unfortunate soul – this year the lack of publicity on TV and elsewhere made me feel a lot less dejected.

We bought our new clothes – all three of us bought pants and shirts. The weekend just ahead of Deepavali was really convenient because I could make some bakshanams without having to lose too much sleep.

Our new Friday ritual has been having dinner at New Chola Indian restaurant not far away from here. They are the only guys in the neighbourhood that consider South Indian cuisine part of Indian cuisine. Their buffet has two sweets, and one of them is invariably either Gaajar halwa or Beetroot halwa. So, I was inspired to try the same. So, I called amma and asked her, and she said – “romba simple!”. I should have known that if she said that, I should probably re-think my plan after the year before last year’s Coconut burfi fiasco. But anyway she asked me to grate the carrot and boil it in milk “onga oor lae thaan full fat milk kadaekumae.. adhula panina innum easy” she said. Take just enough milk to cover the carrots she said. I did all of that, and somehow expected that when I opened the cooker, I would see something quite close to halwa and that all I needed to do was toss it around a bit with ghee to have some yummy halwa. But duh! When I opened the cooker, I saw what was pretty much carrot kheer. So, my plan of starting at 9 and finishing at 10 vanished in thin air. For the next four hours, I watched “The rise of the Taj” on TV (review of that cannot be public please) while my kheer became halwa. Of course it tasted great, what with the loss of sleep and all that. The next day I started early. I made Jilebis with the Swad Jilebi mix that was available at the local Indian store. It was pretty good when fresh. Later it became kind of soggy. I however felt that it was lacking that sour taste that jilebis usually have. I then made the usual Thenkuzhal and Ribbon Pakoda.

Bakshanam
Bakshanam

On the morning of Deepavali, we managed to wake up in time, did our ‘yennai sasthram’, ‘ganga snanam’, wore our new clothes and left for work. My daughter was a darl all through it. The plan was to have dinner with P, Fa and S that night and then light up some sparklers, but boy was it cold, we decided it was not a good idea to stand out in the cold for sparklers. We had a heavy dinner, slept late and got to work late the next day. We did eventually fire up some sparklers the next day when it was a lot less colder.

 

Nalangu
Nalangu
Sparklers
Sparklers

In all Deepavali was good. I hope my daughter has some recollection of what she did this year, so that next year I can see her get excited a month ahead. Long shot may be.

  This year Deepavali is specially important. There are a lot of stories associated with it, but to me it always has been the time to celebrate. As a child I looked forward to the new clothes, the fireworks, the bakshanams, the holiday. As an NRI maami, I look forward to the new clothes, the bakshanams, the excitement on my daughter’s face when she holds the sparklers, and the welcome distraction it offers from the fact that winter is slipping in silently and coldly. This year, with the economy drawing to a virtual halt, there are people Indians and otherwise who are probably facing the brunt of a lost job or foreclosed home. I hope Deepavali for them brought back memories of happiness and cheer and filled them with the hope that things will be good again.

Hope you all had a happy Deepavali.

6 thoughts on “Deepavali – better late than never!

  1. my <a href =”http://curdriceaurora.wordpress.com/2008/10/26/cooking-escapades-gajar-ka-kulfi/”carrot halwa experiment for deepavali was a success. cooker spoils the broth is what i have learnt from periyava. 🙂

    Rekha: Nice – Oru Kallu rendu mangaa. Kulfi and Halwa.. Nice nice..

  2. Belated Happy Deepavali! Aduthadhu enna? India shopping ah?

    Rekha: Ayyoo… dont ask. Inga British consulate kazhuthu arukaraan. packing shopping elaam yosikkavae illai inum.

  3. Me

    I ate carrot halwa yesterday and I have been snacking on thattai, kara sev, mixture, ribbon pakkoda for couple of weeks now….so no craving for all those…but jalebis…oh god..they look so delicious…

    Rekha: Yummy!! You made, your wife made or both of you bought?

    adutha vaati make you own jalebi from scratch …romba easy & sour taste varathukku add yeast and leave it for a while…

    Rekha: appdiya? I didn’t look for the recipe. Somebody told me these come out well, so yosikaama idha pannitaen. I thought mixing it with curd instead of water might have given me the sour taste but didnt risk it. Plus after 2 days, this one started tasting like jaangri.

    …btw unga daughter romba samuthu pol irukku…azhaga nalangu lam potukaraley…
    Rekha: ava thaanae? Samathu elaam mathavaa minaadi thaan. She was pretty excited about the nalangu. It was quite a sight watching her walk carefully after the nalangu. She was disappointed that it was all gone after her ganga snanam.

  4. Me

    ellamey kadaila vaanginadhu dhan…adhu kooda nan vangala…this time no pandigai…so we got all bakshanam couple of weeks earlier and finished off before deepavali….and we got some after deepavali and eating them every evening …kaapi oda..

    She was disappointed that it was all gone after her ganga snanam.

    acho paavam…

    Rekha: Hahaa.. parava illai ivlo varieties porumaya vaangi sapadraenga. Ensoy ensoy!

  5. I have decided that I shall grow a thick skin and not be intimidated by someone so young as you making bakshanams at the drop of a hat while I order in and just make a fuss lighting some diyas and throwing a light dinner and passing it off as Diwali nite special!

    Shame Shame maami!
    Yay Yay NRI Maami.

    Rekha: Haha.. adhulaam illai. It seems like most people in India are doing what you are doing. I think the way you do these things depends on the place you are in, and the things people around you are doing.

Leave a Reply

